Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

The Aerosol & Mucosal ​Vaccination community is comprised of individuals from different Institutions worldwide and includes the following members:​​

Dr Helen McShane


​Helen McShane is currently Director of the NIHR Oxford Biomedical Research Centre; Professor of Vaccinology at Oxford University; Deputy Head (Translation and Personnel), Medical Sciences Division; and an Honorary Consultant physician in HIV and GU medicine.

Helen obtained an intercalated BSc in 1988, followed by a degree in medicine in 1991 (both University of London). In 1997 She was awarded an MRC Clinical Training Fellowship to undertake a PhD with Adrian Hill in Oxford, and was later awarded a PhD in 2001 (University of London). In 2001 she was awarded a Wellcome Clinician Scientist Fellowship, allowing her to complete her clinical training and subsequently awarded a CCST in HIV and GU Medicine in 2003. In 2005 and 2010, she was awarded a Wellcome Senior Clinical Research Fellowship. She currently holds a Wellcome Trust Investigator Award.

Since 2001, Helen has lead a TB vaccine research group at the University of Oxford. She led the development of MVA85A, the first new TB vaccine candidate to enter efficacy testing. Current areas of focus include the development of controlled human mycobacterial challenge models, aerosol delivery of vaccines and immunomonitoring in clinical trials. She collaborates with several research groups across Africa in TB vaccine clinical trials.

Dr Rajko Reljic


Dr. Rajko Reljic, St George’s University of London, UK

TB is predominantly a lung disease and mucosal vaccine delivery is potentially the most effective mode of immunisation against the infection. Dr Reljic is involved in developing and testing of a number of mucosal vaccine candidates for TB as boost to BCG. This involves the use of several mucosal vaccine delivery systems, including nanoparticles, inactivated bacterial spores, liposomes and self-adjuvanting recombinant immune complexes. The main feature of these new vaccine candidates is that they are designed to target specific cell surface receptors and tissues in the mucosa of the lung in order to improve vaccine delivery and induce appropriate immune responses. Dr Reljic is also focused on immunotherapy of TB and MDR-TB using monoclonal IgA antibodies and cytokines.

Dr Reljic obtained his PhD at King’s College London and after that undertook post-doctoral fellowships at University of Cambridge and King’s College London, before joining St George’s in 2007. He is currently Associate Professor of Immunology and Course director for Masters in Research in Biomedical Sciences program. He is the scientific lead and the coordinator of the EMI-TB consortium, an EU-funded TB vaccine initiative that involves 14 research groups from Europe and Africa and member of the H2020 BACTIVAC consortium. He is one of the management board members of the UK-MRC funded network VALIDATE for intracellular pathogens including MTB.


Dr Aurelio Bonavia

Aurelio Bonavia has hands-on experience in vaccine, antibodies and small molecules development. His work has focused in respiratory viruses, biodefense viruses and Tuberculosis/HIV in Translational Development and CMC. Aurelio clinical experience spans Phase 1, Phase 2a Human Challenges and POC Phase 2. Work with Tuberculosis focused on understanding aerosol as an important route of administration for a potential alternative for TB vaccine using viral vectors and whole cell vaccines. Experience with small and large animal model development for infectious diseases. Aurelio received his PhD from University of Colorado Health Sciences Center for his work in Human Coronavirus and carried his postdoctoral work in HIV at Johns Hopkins. Aurelio previously worked at Functional Genetics, Novartis, Theraclone , Aeras and is currently Senior Director, Clinical Development at Vir Biotechnology.

Dr Philip Kuehl

Philip Kuehl holds a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry of Hamline University in St. Paul, MN. He completed his PhD at the University of Arizona, College of Pharmacy in Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2007. After completing his degree Philip joined the Applied Sciences Program at Lovelace Biomedical, where he has worked since 2007. Dr. Kuehl is currently a Senior Scientist and the Director of Scientific Core Laboratories.

Dr. Kuehl’s research interests are in the area of inhalation formulation and its effects on deposition, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics. These aerosol formulations have included therapeutic (small/large molecule protein/peptide, DNA/RNA and cell/gene therapy), disease inducing (LPS, bleomycin, etc.) and infectious aerosols. A primary focus of Dr. Kuehl's research is understanding and quantifying pulmonary dose in clinical and non-clinical experiments.

Dr. Kuehl is a current member of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, Association of Inhalation Toxicologists, American Chemical Society, American Association of Aerosol Researchers and International Society for Aerosols in Medicine. He is also currently an Adjunct Professor at the University of New Mexico, College of Pharmacy and on the executive committee for the AAPS Inhalation and Nasal Technology Focus Group. Philip also serves as an ad-hoc reviewer for several inhalation and pharmaceutical science based journals and is on the editorial board for the Journal of Aerosol Medicine and Pulmonary Drug Delivery.

Dr Steffen Stenger

Steffen Stenger is Professor of Medicine, specialized in Medical Microbiology, Infection Control and Hospital Hygiene. He is Director of the laboratory for Medical Microbiology and responsible for the implementation of antibiotic stewardship at the University Hospital Ulm. As such he is directly involved in the diagnosis and treatment of patients with tuberculosis. Over the past 20 years Dr. Stenger´s laboratory focused on understanding effector mechanisms of the human immune system against Mycobacterium tuberculosis. Major focus of the research was the identification and functional characterization of antimicrobial T cell subsets. Together with Dr. Modlin he participated in the identification of granulysin as an antimicrobial effector molecule of human CD8+ cytotoxic T cells. Translational studies involving large, well-defined patient cohorts demonstrated that granulysin-expressing effector memory T cells contribute to protection in human tuberculosis. He is member of the steering committee of the “TBornotTB” consortium funded by the German Ministry for Research to set up the first comprehensive German cohort of tuberculosis patients and their close contacts to identify risk factors for transmission of disease. His current scientific focus is to understand local immunity in tuberculosis at the site of disease. This includes studies on the interaction of human cells obtained from bronchoalveolar lavage with virulent Mycobacterium tuberculosis as well as the identification and functional optimization of antimicrobial peptides from human lung. Steffen served as founder and co-chair of the CTVD research community “Aerosol & Mucosal Vaccination” until 2018.

Dr Warwick Britton

Dr Jo Kirman

Dr Troy Randall

Dr Chad Roy

Dr Jordi Torrelles

Dr Zhou Xing