Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

This arm of the CTVD community harnesses the expertise of eight institutions, each with extensive experience in non-human primate (NHP) models of tuberculosis (TB) and/or vaccine development. The overarching mission of the NHP community is to develop the NHP model to facilitate clinical development of a TB vaccine. Our collective goal is to test vaccine regimens that will prove concepts, facilitate clinical development, and align with concurrent human TB vaccine trials. Through these experiments we aim to define correlates of vaccine-mediated protection as well as correlates of risk of developing active TB disease. We provide NHP model information and specimen samples to other research communities in the CTVD that may be interested in testing their concepts in the NHP model.​​

The ​Non-human Primates community is comprised of individuals from different Institutions worldwide and includes the following members:​​

Dr Patricia A Darrah


Tricia received her PhD in Microbiology & Immunology from Temple University School of Medicine in 2001. Since then, she’s worked in the Cellular Immunology Section of the NIH Vaccine Research Center studying how various vaccine platforms shape the magnitude, quality, breadth, and tissue distribution of CD4 and CD8 T cell responses after immunization. Tricia currently leads the VRC TB Unit under Robert Seder & Mario Roederer, investigating the immunogenicity and efficacy of new vaccines against tuberculosis in a pre-clinical nonhuman primate model.

Dr Michel Vierboom


Michel Vierboom has been involved in research with NHP for over 20 years. Since 2015, he works at the TB research group headed by Frank Verreck at the BPRC. Over the last years we have focused on mucosal delivery of live attenuated TB vaccines and my special interest is to elucidate the role of innate immunity and more in particular the role of trained immunity in TB vaccine efficacy.


JoAnne Flynn

Deepak Kaushal
Dominick Laddy
Philana Ling Lin​
Louis Picker​
Jay Rappaport
Mario Roederer
Chuck Scanga
​Robert Seder
​Sally Sharpe

Frank Verreck
Andrew White

Yasuhiro Yasutomi